Week #40 Gomez Palacio

Ok, well, I’m starting this email with little time left but I´ll try to include the major stuff.  It´s been a sad week and we are going to have to take a step back with a lot of investigators. We were hoping for a lot a people in church but all of the investigators faced some sort of obstacle or had an excuse not to go.  It was a little rough, but I know that God is preparing us so that we can be more humble, and more obedient missionaries.  I know that God also blesses us when we have given our all, and I can testify of that.  We have been working hard, but there is a lot we can still improve.

We still need to visit some of the investigators that didn’t come to church like Keta and her family to see what happened, and we are going to follow the spirit as we assess their needs and figure out the best way to help them.  It´s hard some times to accept God´s timeline because we want things to always work out for us, but I have found greater comfort in waiting and continuing forward until the Lord blesses me in a way I had never thought possible.

I have been trying really hard to be more humble and it can very difficult to accept the will of God.  One thing that our President taught us is that our obedience is a measure of our humility because we are showing that we confide in God´s wisdom and his plan for us.  I have never been the most obedient and certainly have still seen disobedient missionaries baptize and have success, but I can’t deny the miracles and help that I have received from God in the times I have strived to be better.  And I have also felt a lot of personal growth as a result of my obedience.  I can honestly testify that when we rely on God, he helps us grow in ways he knows will help us in our lives.

Well, other than a few disappointments, which are expected, the mission life is good! I’m learning lots and trying to be worthy to help those that are prepared for me!  Thanks for the love and support!

Until next week,

Elder Jolley

Leave a Reply

